Friday, 7 October 2016

Look what happened in Rome - lighting strikes again!

AFP PHOTO / FILIPPO MONTEFORTE / AFP PHOTO / FILIPPO MONTEFORTE


VATICAN CITY — Rome shook this morning as a massive lightning bolt hit the dome of St. Peter’s Basilica. The strike came on the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary, a celebration with origins not only in a humble prayer, but also in an historic battle.

The bolt hit the dome of St. Peter’s at approximately 9:20 am., as a strong rainstorm passed through Rome. Vatican police confirmed the strike. No damage was reported.

Those close to the Vatican, from Swiss guards to local shop owners, felt the shock.

“I was in the shower and heard what sounded like a loud thunder clap which lasted a few seconds and seemed to shake everything. I knew it was storming but it sounded more like an earthquake than a thunderstorm,” a resident close to Peter’s told Aleteia.

A local Italian coffee-bar owner added: “Everything shook. I could feel it in my lungs. It was as though the air was suspended for a moment.”

This morning’s strike recalls the “bolt from out of the blue” that hit St. Peter’s on February 11, 2013 — the feast of Our Lady of Lourdes — just hours after Pope Benedict XVI shocked the Vatican with his announcement to resign the papal office.




15 comments:

Anonymous said...

I wonder which is the one woman! Filthy rotten sex perverts.

Anonymous said...

There's something decidedly unsettling about that photograph.

John Collinson said...

Our Lady is obviously getting fed up.
If Francis's pontificate started with a lightning bolt, it could end with one also . . .

Eirene said...

I wonder when the third strike will be! Of course this has everything to do with Climate Change! Blind, so blind!

Michael Dowd said...

Perhaps a sign that Our Lady is be pleased with the servants of her Son.

Kathleen1031 said...

You're right, that picture is disturbing.

Dan said...

I'm sure it's just because of climate change due to all those "eco-sins."

Michael Dowd said...

Correction:

Perhaps a sign that Our Lady is NOT pleased with the servants of her Son.

Ana Milan said...

On viewing that photograph of her husband Mrs. Welby might well have something to discuss with him on his return to Canterbury.

Ana Milan said...

Next strike should be Casa di Santa Marta.

Romulus said...

That's not the way to bet.

Anonymous said...

That's the most charitable understatement of the year.

Mike K. said...

I suppose we are not called upon to interpret a lightning strike in a prophetic or superstitious manner, but one cannot help and ponder these occurrences in a prayerful way and invoke Our Blessed Mother for Her protection from what is about to happen in the world and thus, in the Church.

Anonymous said...

Two (false) bishops who bow to queens (but neither one to the Queen of Angels and Saints).

TC said...

An interesting observation: Lightning struck at 9:20 am in Rome. That means, if my calculations are correct, at the precise moment, nearly every time zone in the world was on the Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary (Oct 7). Everywhere but those places in central & south pacific (such as Hawaii, New Zealand, Cook Islands) and Alaska.

Rome, Italy: 9:20 AM, October 7th, Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary

Antarctica 8:20 PM
Argentina 4:20 AM
Arizona 12:20 AM
Australia 6:20 PM
Brazil 4:20 AM
China 3:20 PM
Cuba 3:20 AM
Greece 10:20 AM
Greenland 5:20 AM
India 12:50 PM
Israel 10:20 AM
Japan 4:20 PM
London 8:20 AM
Los Angeles 12:20 AM
Madagascar 10:20 AM
Morocco 8:20 AM
Moscow 10:20 AM
New York 3:20 AM
Norway 9:20 AM
NWT 1:20 AM
Papua New Guinea 5:20 PM
Philippines 3:20 PM
Saudi Arabia 10:20 AM
Somalia 10:20 AM
South Africa 9:20 AM
Toronto 3:20 AM
Ukraine 10:20 AM
Vancouver 12:20 AM
Yukon 12:20 AM

I didn't spend a bunch of time double checking, so I hope this is all correct. For some reason I find there's meaning in this.